Save the app activities (actions, triggers) as drafts, test and edit them later. When an activity is saved is as a draft, a copy of that activity is created at your end only. Other users (apps) cannot view the activity in the template builder. Also, a draft activity does not appear on your app's landing page in our marketplace.
Thoroughly test the app activities, before rolling it out to users. Once an activity is published, you have limited modification ability. You cannot edit all the parts of that activity. A published activity can be edited as follows:
- Activity name and description can be changed
- Selected endpoint, authorization type, and auto hooks cannot be changed
- Existing activity fields cannot be changed
- New activity fields can be added. Fields must be optional or must have a default
The critical details and parts of an activity cannot be edited, because editing might break the existing integrations and interrupt the integration-flow.
Getting an activity approved
To publish the activity on our platform and the marketplace, you first need to get it approved by our team. When you submit an approval request the activity is reviewed by our team. If the activity is properly developed i.e. the authentication method, endpoints, auto hooks etc. are properly created, the activity is published and an email is sent to you. In case, the team identifies the need for a few modifications, you are notified about them via an email as well.
The Actions/Triggers page in your App menu displays two buttons at the bottom of the page as shown below.
Cancel: Cancels the creation of trigger altogether
Create Trigger: Saves the trigger as a draft
Submit for Approval: Submits the trigger for approval. Once the trigger is approved it then appears in the template-builder, so that other users can create templates using the trigger. The trigger on your app’s landing page (view example), which helps other apps to learn about the capabilities of your app.
Canceling an approval request
When you submit an activity for approval, you have the option to cancel it as well. For example, you submitted an activity, a day later you realized you need to make changes in one of the endpoints, cancel the request, edit and submit it again. The Actions/Triggers page displays Cancel Edit & Review button at the bottom of the page (shown below) after you submit the request.
A few things to keep in mind
- Let's say you have created an app “MyApp” and saved it as a draft. You can edit the app later before submitting it for approval. The triggers and actions you create are also saved as drafts. When you submit the app for approval, the activities are also submitted automatically. An unpublished app cannot have a published activity.
- If you cancel an app approval request, the activities’ requests are canceled automatically too.